The seasons are changing…

Hello all,

probably time for a new update given a few things are happening right now. The time still seems to fly and I almost can’t believe that Canadian summer is over, and that friends and family back home are settling back into school and their regular 9 to 5s. For us, school is still on for another full term, but I can gladly say a two week break awaits us in a weeks time.

I am fortunate enough to have found myself a teaching contract for two terms at Victoria’s first bilingual school. Due to unforeseen circumstances with a previous teacher, I now teach two classes of level three and four french and french math every day. It’s a lot of work, and everything is completely new to me, but I am glad for the learning experience. I’ve never done primary, don’t know the curriculum, the ICT, marking, protocols etc… but I have kind people at the school who show me the ropes. Some days the kids drive me MAD, but I’m starting to feel very attached to my classes and some of the students… Now I wonder if I was meant for primary all along. It’s a hard call, but fortunately I don’t have to make it just yet. 

The past few weeks have been really stressful as the term winds down, final projects, parent meetings, open houses… I will be very thankful when next friday comes!…

For more than one reason. Next Friday I’m flying with a friend to Sydney for our term holiday. We’re going to spend 4 days in sydney, move onto the Gold Coast, Noosa, do a three day Fraser Island tour, down to Byron Bay and home. I hope to get a tan, do some whale watching, check out the Australia zoo… I think it’ll be a whirlwind and I’m looking forward to it 🙂

I got back from Uluru last week with my friends. We landed in Alice Springs and spent four days in the outback. I got to know some new people and visit places that had been on my list of things to do. It was phenomenal, to say the last. We camped under the stars, cooked on the fire, saw Uluru sunrise and sunset… Three gorgeous hikes… Our leader Nate was ridiculous, and we had some great Euros on board too. It was a four day trip that felt like two weeks, in the best way possible. I feel like we got so much done and I loved it.  We even rode camels!!Image

Image

ImageImageImageI‘\

 

I’ve decided that due to timing and price, it may make more sense to stay here over Christmas. A Christmas without snow would be weird, but I know that I’m not ready to leave in December. I will most likely visit at the one year mark, and make plans to do my regional work come January. I’m really enjoying it here, and the only thing to make it better would be having some of the lovely people from Canada over here with me. I’m looking forward to break, warmer weather, and new adventures 🙂

With love from Melbourne,

 

Leave a Reply

